top of page

The Young Faces of the Outer Hebrides


We are not all lazy.

We are not all troublemakers.

We are not all lacking respect.

We are not all binge drinkers.

We are not all spoiled.

We are not all addicted to our phones but let's face it, even if we are, there are worse things to be addicted to.

It's the Year of Young People 2018 (YOYP). So, I'm celebrating some of our young islanders, I'm challenging the perception society generally has of us and I'm coming to you all with a suggestion.

Who am I Celebrating?

OK, I'm putting my Lewis Carnival hat on, just momentarily.

My friend Ruth and I (below) joined the Lewis Carnival committee last year, mainly because we we just can't say no to people. Also, the thought of the Lewis Carnival tradition not going ahead for lack of support was just all a bit too disappointing - the 'save the Lewis Carnival' appeal got to us.

Despite still having a sore lack of volunteers on the day, the 2017 Carnival was a great success. The sun even shone for us. Plus, between the Carnival Day and the Carnival Ball, we managed to raise a lot of money for local charities. That's what it's all about, after all.

Some of last year's members couldn't commit again this year, so we had to make another appeal for Carnival 2018 committee members.

Every single person who responded to our appeal for support is a YOUNG islander. All under 30, most of them under 25.

They too want to hold onto something that's unique to our community. None of them are troublemakers, all are passionate and not one appears to be lazy - we're all pretty busy people.

Carnival Ball 2017

Looking around my close circle of friends, who also happen to be young people living in the Outer Hebrides, there is a lot to celebrate about them and a lot to be proud of:

  • One is training to be a lawyer

  • Two own a hugely successful garden centre

  • A few are full time musicians

  • One is an artist

  • One is a retail manager for a pretty big worldwide brand

  • Two are very busy, self employed joiners

  • Two are divers

  • One is a mummy

  • One is a butcher

  • One owns a recording studio

I'm not judging my best friends here on their achievements or how far their careers have taken them. In this world, you can be anything. I'm proud of them because they're kind and they're caring. I'm proud of them because they all give back to our community. I'm proud of who they are, not what they are.

I have eight violin pupils whom I teach privately once a week, all still in school. I also teach traditional music to a group of teenagers every Wednesday.

Each one of them is delightful, polite, appreciative and totally dedicated to their instrument. They don't deserve to come under a negative umbrella because of the generation they're in, they really don't. Again, I'm celebrating who these youngsters are.

Young Leaders

As I look at a big - and pretty overwhelming - selection of Stornoway Trust nominees and try to decide who to vote for, I'm disappointed not to see a group of islanders my own age standing. I felt the same at our last council elections too. I would have been really proud to vote for someone my own age, who would know what young islanders want.

Yes, I know. You think I'm a hypocrite. I didn't stand either.

Many would argue that youngsters don't hold any life experience or that they 'haven't lived enough' to be councillors. That's certainly how I feel anyway. What do I know about being a councillor? I'm 26 years old, I don't even have a mortgage yet and my Mum still makes me a healthy snack for work!

My Suggestion:

What about putting in place a 'young councillors' group? An elected group of 18 - 30 year olds who can learn from existing councillors about how the system works, gain valuable experience, meanwhile contributing to discussions about our community. Invite them to attend meetings, make them feel welcome amongst island stakeholders and let them consult alongside you.

Imagine that, getting some experience under our belts so that we can, for once, go into an interview with experience ALREADY. Imagine.

To my parents' generation and those before them:

We want YOU to be proud of US. We want you to be glad that we're living in the same community. We want you to help us and give us more opportunities to learn from you. We want you to be thankful that we are holding - some of us clinging -onto the wonderful heritage you've handed down to us.

We want you to love that we are the future; the young faces of Outer Hebrides.

It's you we’re looking up to.

 

MY MOOD BOARDS

MY MUSIC

bottom of page